Skip to Content

What's New @ Roselle Public Library

Monday, January 28, 2013

Youth Media Awards Announced!

This morning at ALA's Mid-Winter Conference, a host of awards were announced for children and teens books, audio and video.
The Newbery Medal for children's literature and the Caldecott Medal for picture books are the most recognizable, but there are many more.

And the winners are... (drum roll please!)

John Newbery Medal:
The One and Only Ivan / Katherine Applegate

Randolph Caldecott Medal
This Is Not My Hat / Jon Klassen

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award (for beginning readers)
Up, Tall and High / Ethan Long

Robert F. Sibert (informational books for children)
Bomb: the Race to Build  - and Steal - the World's Most Dangerous Weapon / Steve Sheinkin

Mildred L. Batchelder Award (foreign book translated to English)
My Family for the War / Anne C Voorhoeve (originally published in Germany)

Pura Belpré Award (Latino culture)
Martin de Porres: the Rose in the Desert / Gary D. Schmidt ; illustrated by David Diaz
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe/ Benjamin Alire Saenz

Michael L. Printz Award (young adult literature)
In Darkness / Nick Lake

William C. Morris Award (YA - first-time author writing for teens)
Serafina / Rachel Hartman

YALSA Award for Excellence in Non-Fiction
Bomb: the Race to Build  - and Steal - the World's Most Dangerous Weapon / Steve Sheinkin
Odyssey Award (young adult recorded book)
The Fault in Our Stars / John Green

Many other awards were presented that relate to specific audiences or for authors or illustrators rather than specific titles.
Your Library has most of these titles on the shelf or on order. Look for them in our catalog.
Happy Award Reading!

See the complete list of award winners and honor books in ALA's press release:
Post a Comment

<< Blog Home

Blog Home

Subscribe to
What's New @ Roselle Public Library
by Email


Powered by Blogger