Skip to Content

What's New @ Roselle Public Library

Thursday, April 21, 2005

African American Genealogy online workshop

Thursday, April 21, 2005 beginning at 3:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 2:00 Central, 1:00 Mountain, Noon Pacific, and 7:00 p.m. GMT:
African-American Genealogy Basics
Researching African-American ancestors poses a unique set of problems for family historians. Jack Simpson, genealogy curator at the Newberry Library in Chicago, will give an overview of genealogy research techniques with a focus on African-American sources. The talk will cover basic genealogy sources, such as the U. S. census and vital records. It will also examine more advanced sources, such as the records of the Freedmen's Bureau. Jack Simpson is the Curator of Local and Family History at the Newberry Library in Chicago. Before coming to the Newberry, he worked at The Bentley Historical Library at the University of Michigan and the Reuther Library at Wayne State University in Detroit. In addition to his work as a reference librarian, Jack teaches several seminars in genealogy at the Newberry Library.

To attend go to
http://www.tcconference.com/lib/?auditorium&nopass_field=1
type your name and click enter to go into the online auditorium.

This program is not presented by or sponsored by Roselle Public Library. It is offered through a service called OPAL, which stands for Online Programming for All Libraries.
The full schedule of OPAL programs, including links into the online meeting room where each online program will be held, is at the following URL:
http://www.opal-online.org/progschrono.htm
If you have any questions, please contact Tom Peters (tpeters at tapinformation.com).


Blog Home

Subscribe to
What's New @ Roselle Public Library
by Email

Archive


Powered by Blogger

RSS