Skip to Content

What's New @ Roselle Public Library

Monday, March 14, 2005

Online Programs for Women's History Month

OPAL (Online Programming for All Libraries) is pleased to announce the following programs in honor of women's history month featuring historical women and special collections!

To participate, go to the online auditorium at http://www.tcconference.com/lib/?auditorium&nopass_field=1
Type your name in the box and click enter to go into the auditorium. A small software applet will download to your computer as you enter the room. An internet connection, sound card and speakers are needed to participate.

Wednesday, March 16, 2005 beginning at 2:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time, 1:00 Central, noon Mountain, 11:00 a.m. Pacific, and 7:00 p.m. GMT: The Unique American Woman: Stories of Sisters, Wives, Mothers, and Friends (Women's History Month)
You know about Susan B. Anthony and Rosie the Riveter, but did you know about the Civil War soldier who revealed her identity only when wounded? Or the stories of women in covered wagons transversing the Great Plains, as slaves or the wives of famous men, or during the Great Depression? Presented by the Library of Congress.

Wednesday, March 16, 2005 beginning at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time, 3:00 Central, 2:00 Mountain, 1:00 Pacific, and 9:00 p.m. GMT: Women's History Month: Early Heroines of Quincy, Illinois
Join Iris Nelson from the Quincy Public Library and Tom Peters from TAP Information Services as they discuss outstanding women who hailed from Quincy, including Cora Benneson, Eliza Caldwell Browning (a confidante of Abraham Lincoln), and others.

Friday, March 18, 2005 beginning at noon Eastern Standard Time, 11:00 a.m. Central, 10:00 a.m. Mountain, 9:00 a.m. Pacific, and 5:00 p.m. GMT: Introduction to the Lincoln Collection
Join Kim Bauer, Curator of the Lincoln collection at the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library, for this fascinating introduction to the treasures held in this unique collection.

Tuesday, March 22, 2005 beginning at 4:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time, 3:00 Central, 2:00 Mountain, 1:00 Pacific, and 9:00 p.m. GMT: Women's History Month: Early Heroines of Quincy, Illinois
Join Arlis Dittmer from the Blessing-Rieman College of Nursing Library and Tom Peters from TAP Information Services as they discuss outstanding women who hailed from Quincy, including Melinda Germann, a physician.

For more information about these programs, contact Tom Peters, OPAL Coordinator at tapinformation@yahoo.com


Blog Home

Subscribe to
What's New @ Roselle Public Library
by Email

Archive


Powered by Blogger

RSS